The College of Social Sciences (CSS) was established in December 2022 when the University of the Philippines (UP) Baguio became the seventh constituent university of the UP System.

Formerly the Social Sciences Division, it has offered its BA Social Sciences program since 1967 in pursuit of the university’s mandate to provide quality tertiary instruction in the Cordillera and Northern Luzon. The Management Sciences Division, which has also been offering its Master of Management program, merged with it in 2002 following the reorganization of academic programs and administrative units of UP Baguio.

Sneak Peek into DEPS CAMP 2023

At present, the CSS is configured into three departments and an institute: the Department of Anthropology, Sociology, and Psychology (DASP), the Department of Economics and Political Science (DEPS), the Department of History and Philosophy (DHPh), and the Institute of Management (IM).

The CSS offers curricular, research, and extension programs that are interdisciplinary, socially engaged, ethically committed, and relevant to the region and the nation. It has two undergraduate programs, namely the BA Social Sciences and the BS Management Economics. It also offers four graduate programs: MA History, MA Social and Development Studies, Master of Management, and PhD Indigenous Studies.

The CSS likewise conducts an array of research and extension programs through its Social Sciences Research and Extension Institute (SSREI). Among its public service activities include trainings on qualitative and quantitative research methods, seminar-workshops for teachers and development workers, lectures of eminent scholars and specialists, and engagements with community organizations, local government units, national agencies, and international partners.


Our mission, therefore, as a unit of the U.P. System and as the leading institution of higher learning in Northern Luzon, is to spearhead the offering of the highest standard of education and to contribute to the overall upgrading of the quality of instruction in the region. We seek to create an impact by informing our programs with a regional perspective, at the same time that these are informed by a national and global outlook.

As a constituent university of the University of Philippines System, U.P. Baguio will sustain its lead position in the delivery of tertiary education in the north. It will continue to nurture and develop innovative programs in the arts and sciences. It will also continue to develop the niche it has created over the past decades in Cordillera Studies.


As articulated in the Proposal for the Reorganization of the then University of the Philippines College of Baguio and the Establishment of UP Baguio as the 7th constituent of the UP System, the mission the College of Social Sciences is to offer multidisciplinary undergraduate and graduate programs. These programs are guided by the faculty’s mission to offer a socially-committed social science education that:

  1. Produces graduates who are not passive receptors of knowledge, but informed and competent agents of change. Their knowledge and capacities, therefore, are directed outward to the actual life of communities proceeding from the critical life of their disciplines;

  2. Addresses the social development needs of peripheral communities that the regional unit serves by providing a counterpoint to the centralized, standardized, and often fragmentary understanding of development;

  3. While grounded on the scientific study of society, is tempered by a consciousness of the many ways that our personal and disciplinal biases can overlap with the process of producing knowledge; and

  4. Expands opportunities for exercising human freedom.


Leah E. Abayao

Prof. Leah E. Abayao, Ph.D

August 2021 - Present
Professor of History
Department of History and Philosophy

Former Deans of the College of Social Sciences

Prof. Arellano A. Colongon Jr.
August 2018 – July 2021

Prof. Santos Jose O. Dacanay III, PhD
June 2015 – May 2018

Prof. Raymundo D. Rovillos, PhD
June 2006 – May 2012

Prof. Lorelei C. Mendoza, PhD
June 2003  – May 2006, June 2012 – May 2015