UNIVERSITY OF THE PHILIPPINES BAGUIO

ACADEMIC CALENDAR  for SY  2016-2017

 

1ST SEMESTER

(Aug-Dec 2016)

2ND SEMESTER

(Jan-May 2017)

MIDYEAR 2017

(Jun-July 2017)

Physical examination for incoming freshmen

1 Apr, Fri – 2 May, Mon

   

Deadline for application for transfer and application for readmission and extension of MRR

7 June, Tue

7 Nov, Mon

 

ADVANCED REGISTRATION FOR FRESHMEN

2 May, Mon – 3 May, Tue

   

Removal examination period

13 July, Wed – 26 July, Tue

12 Dec , Mon – 15 Dec, Th

3  Jan, Tue – 10 Jan, Tue

25 May, Thu – 7 Jun, Wed

Validation for advanced credits

13 July, Wed – 8 Aug, Mon

12 Dec, Mon – 16 Dec, Fri

3  Jan, Tue – 23 Jan, Mon

 

GENERAL REGISTRATION

   

8 Jun, Thu – 9 Jun, Fri

    Seniors and graduating students

27 July, Wed

11 Jan, Wed

(for all students)

    Freshmen

 

11 Jan, Wed

 

    Juniors

28 July, Thu

12 Jan, Thu

 

    Sophomores

29 July, Fri

13 Jan, Fri

 

    Transferees, x-registrants & others

1 Aug, Mon

16 Jan, Mon

 

    Last day of registration

1 Aug, Mon

16 Jan, Mon

 

START OF CLASSES

2 Aug, Tue

17 Jan, Tue

13 Jun, Tue

Freshmen Welcome Assembly

2 Aug, Tue

   

UP Foundation Day

   

18 Jun, Sun

Deadline for filing application for graduation

23 Aug, Tue

7 Feb, Tue

29 Jun, Thu

Deadline for Colleges to submit TENTATIVE list of candidates for graduation

30 August, Tue

14 Feb, Tue

6 Jul, Thu

UP College Admission Test (UPCAT)

c/o Office of Admissions

   

MID-SEMESTER

29 Sept, Thu

16 Mar, Thu

28 Jun, Wed

Last day for graduating students to clear deficiencies incurred in previous semesters

27 Oct, Thu

11 Apr, Tue

23 Jun, Fri

DEADLINE FOR DROPPING SUBJECTS

2 Nov, Wed

18 Apr, tue

7 Jul, Fri

DEADLINE FOR FILING LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA)

17 Nov, Thu

2 May, Tue

 

LAST DAY OF CLASSES

1 Dec, Thu

16 May, Tue

14 Jul, Fri

UP Baguio Foundation Day

2 Dec, Fri

   

Integration Period

2 Dec, Fri

17 May, Wed

17 Jul, Mon

FINAL EXAMINATIONS

5 Dec, Mon – 8 Dec,Thu

 

18 Jul, Tue – 19 Jul, Wed

    Graduating students

 

18 May, Thu – 19 May, Fri

    Other students

 

18 May, Thu – 23 May, Tue

Torch Parade and Pasiklaban

9 Dec, Fri

   

DEADLINE FOR SUBMITTING GRADES

19 Dec, Mon

 

21 Jul, Fri

    Graduating students

 

30 May, Tue

 

    Other students

 

5 Jun, Mon

 

Curriculum Committee Meeting

23 Jan, Mon

8 May, Mon

31 Jul, Mon

College Faculty Meeting to approve candidates for graduation

6 Feb, Mon

5 Jun, Mon (am)

14 Aug, Mon

Deadline for Colleges to submit APPROVED list of candidates for graduation

8 Feb, Wed

5 Jun, Mon (pm)

16 Aug, Wed

UNIVERSITY COUNCIL MEETING

13 Feb, Mon

7 Jun, Wed

28 Aug, Mon

BOR MEETING TO APPROVE GRADUATION

Per BOR schedule

Per BOR schedule

Per BOR schedule

COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES

 

22 Jun, Thu

 

Date of approval by PAEP: 7 March 2016;  Noted by BOR: 31 March 2016

 

 

Note: For the midyear session, 3-unit lecture classes meet two (2) hours daily, Monday   to Friday  for 24 class days.

HOLIDAYS DURING THE ACADEMIC YEAR

2016

2017

Ninoy Aquino Day

21 Aug, Sun

New Year’s Day

1 Jan, Sun

National Heroes Day

29 Aug, Mon

Araw ng Kagitingan

9 Apr, Sun

Baguio Day

1 Sept, Thu

Maundy Thursday

13 Apr, Thu

Additional special (non-working) day

31 Oct, Mon

Good Friday

14 Apr, Fri

All Saints Day

1 Nov, Tue

Labor Day

1 May, Mon

Bonifacio Day

30 Nov, Wed

Independence Day

12 Jun, Mon

Additional special (non-working) day

24 Dec, Sat

Cordillera Day

15 July, Sat

Christmas Day

25 Dec, Sun

   

Rizal Day

30 Dec, Fri

   

Additional special (non-working) day

31 Dec, Sat

 

 

             

 Summary of Meetings

 First Semester 2016-2017

Month

TTh

No. of meetings

WF

No. of meetings

Sat

No. of meetings

Aug

2,4,9,11,16,18,23,25,30

9

3,5,10,12,17,19,24,26,31

9

6,13,20,27

4

Sept

6,8,13,15,20,22,27,29

8

2,7,9,14,16,21,23,28,30

9

3,10,17,24

4

Oct

4,6,11,13,18,20,25,27

8

5,7,12,14,19,21,26,28

8

1,8,15,22,29

5

Nov

3,8,10,15,17,22,24,29

8

2,4,9,11,16,18,23,25

8

5,12,19,26

4

Dec

1

1

-

 

 

 

 

 

34 meetings

 

34 meetings

 

17 meetings

 

 

X 1.5 hrs

 

X 1.5 hrs

 

X 3 hrs

 

TOTAL

51 hrs

 

51 hrs

 

51 hrs


 
 Second Semester 2016-2017

Month

TTh

No. of meetings

WF

No. of meetings

Sat

No. of meetings

Jan

17,19,24,26,31

5

18,20,25,27

4

21,28

2

Feb

2,7,9,14,16,21,23,28

8

1,3,8,10,15,17,22,24

8

4,11,18,25

4

Mar

2,7,9,14,16,21,23,28,30

9

1,3,8,10,15,17,22,24,29,31

10

4,11,18,25

4

Apr

4,6,11,18,20,25,27

7

5,7,12,19,21,26,28

7

1,8,15,22,29

5

May

2,4,9,11,16

5

3,5,10,12

4

6,13

2

 

 

34 meetings

 

33 meetings

 

17 meetings

 

 

X 1.5 hrs

 

X 1.5 hrs

 

X 3 hrs

 

TOTAL

51 hrs

 

49.5 hrs

 

51 hrs

  Midyear 2016-2017

Month

Days

No. of meetings

Jun

13,14,15,16,19,20,21,22,23,26,27,28,29,30

14

July

3,4,5,6,7,10,11,12,13,14

10

 

 

24 meetings

 

 

X 2 hrs

 

TOTAL

48 hrs

  

Click HERE for the University of the Philippines Baguio ACADEMIC CALENDAR for 2017-2018